First blog post

Today marks the day of my first official blog. I am creating my page and starting the journey. I have been reading the book No More Mondays by Dan Miller. His book, along with other life circumstances, have encouraged me to try something I have been wanting to do for a while. My name is Annie McKee. I am a 9th Grade English teacher, mama of one, wife, fitness and nutrition fanatic.
I currently follow Ben Bergeron’s Crossfit programming on my own.

My meal planning and nutritional plan as a whole have been a little lacking lately. I am going to get back on track. Before I fell off the bandwagon, I was following a 40% carb intake, 30% protein intake, and 30% fat intake. I lost about 10 pounds doing this. I saw significant changes in my body including losing several inches from by stomach. ‘

Now, back to No More Mondays.The main concept is “If you are one of those people who dread going to work on Mondays, do something about it.” I do not hate my job. I love teaching students; the stress comes from dealing with adults. In the past few months, I have considered changing careers or staying home. Then, God started sending me signs for change. I needed a new book to read- No More Mondays jumped out of me from my classroom bookshelf. I did not know I had this book or even where it came from. As I started, reading I realized that I control my own circumstances. In the last page I read today, Miller stated, “Remember that happiness is a function of character, not circumstances…we can choose optimism, joy, and a better future (Miller 64).”  Another sure sign to me that it was time to change my way of thinking to revolutionary was today. I had a college student sit in the whole morning to observe my classes and teaching. Before she left, she gave me the biggest compliment. She told me how much she enjoyed sitting in on my classes. She was a little nervous about being in the high school and thought the students would be intimidating. She was impressed at the rapport I had with the students, the comfortability that they felt with me, they genuinely seemed to be learning, and that they were happy to be learning in my class. It was like someone slapped me in the face. I have been unhappy in my work, but for all the wrong reasons. I should be happy because I am doing what I am called to do. I am serving the Lord by offering guidance and knowledge to my students. Just because adults are miserable, does not mean what I am doing is irrelevant.

I am going to continue reading and making life changes. I am going to continue blogging and creating this website. I am going to continue to “choose optimism, joy, and better future. (Miller 64)”

Leave a Reply

