Meals and Snacks- Week of November 27th

I hate diets. Diets are hard and frustrating. Anytime I have ever “attempted” a diet I end up thinking about food 85% of my day. I have found that if I simply buy only healthy foods to have in the house, I eat a lot healthier. I am too lazy to leave the house once I get home from a workout. Ironic huh?  I also hate cooking. If it takes more than 30 minutes, I do not want any part of it. I like simple meals where I can pronounce all the ingredients. A lot of people think that in order to eat healthily you have to be able to cook and spend an excess of money on food. This is completely false.

For example, this week here is what my family bought. 

Meat/Protein: 2 ground turkey patties (4 patties each), preseasoned chicken tenderloins, bacon, turkey sausage, eggs and beef kabobs

Veggies: spinach, HEB chopped salad kits, cauliflower, cucumbers, and carrots

Fruit: bananas, strawberries, raspberries, apples, blueberries, frozen cherries, and limes

Other: Coconut water, coconut milk,  Kind bars, HEB chicken tortilla soup, and 2 True Organics drinks, 2 Thunderbird Real food bars ( I have never tried these)

What I already have on hand: cashews (unsalted), almond milk, chia seeds, protein powder, spices, and condiments

We spent about $150 for 6-7 days worth of food. We will probably eat out one day during the week for dinner. For my husband Larry and I this comes out to about $20 a day for food, good nutritional that is. We ate at Texas Roadhouse today for $36 plus a tip to put this in perspective. One meal at Texas Burger for two equals about $20.

Meals we will have:

Chicken Tortilla Soup

Beef Kabobs with HEB salad kit

Baked chicken with salad kit

Baked chicken with veggies

Eggs with spinach and bacon

Eggs with spinach and turkey sausage

Chia seed pudding with blueberries or raspberries

Smoothies for breakfast or dinner

I will also have Progenex Recovery Protein after workouts.

Snacks will include bananas, cashews, Kind Bars, True Organics drinks, fruit, cauliflower with Catalina, carrots, and apples

Recipes

Chia seed pudding: I promise this is good and easy to make. Try this recipe: Chia Seed Pudding Recipe

Smoothies: Try this recipe. I add Onnit Protein Powderscreen-shot-2016-11-27-at-6-42-08-pm

Please feel free to email me with questions. I love the feedback, suggestions, and questions.

3 comments

  1. I have a question. Can you give me ideas for other snacks? I am a big chocolate anything person and shawn is a big chip person. Do you have any ideas for healthier options?

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

Leave a Reply

